Tsimanampetsotsa National Park

Der Tsimanampetsotsa Nationalpark im Südwesten Madagaskars ist für gewöhnlich Teil einer Safari in den „tiefen Süden“. Ein Ferienaufenthalt in Tsimanampetsotsa kann auch das Berenty-Reservat und das Andohahela-Spezialreservat mit einschließen, die alle in einer besonders schönen Region liegen, die von einem einzigartigen, semi-ariden Lebensraum aus Dornwald und Feuchtgebieten dominiert wird, in dem eine Vielzahl bizarrer und hochangepasster Pflanzen und Tiere lebt, die nirgendwo sonst auf der Erde zu finden sind.

Der Tsimanampetsotsa-See liegt im Herzen von Tsimanampetsotsa. Es ist ein Salzsee ohne Auslass, der aufgrund seiner ungewöhnlichen Chemie kein Fischleben hat. Stattdessen beherbergt dieses Feuchtgebiet, das auf der Ramsar-Liste der international wichtigsten Feuchtgebiete aufgeführt ist, eine Population von Rosa- und Zwergflamingos sowie andere Watvögel. Ein anderer ungewöhnlicher und schöner Anblick ist der Flaschenbaum, der im Tsimanampetsotsa Nationalpark endemisch und typisch für das stachelige Dickicht ist, das die Kalksteinrandstufe am Tsimanampetsotsa-See dominiert.

90 Prozent der Arten, die in Tsimanampetsotsa vorkommen, sind im Park endemisch – eine unfassbar hohe Quote, die dem Park auf jeder Reiseroute einen hohen Stellenwert verleiht. Besonders beeindruckend ist die Öko-Region des Stacheldickichts. Entdecken Sie 2000 Jahre alte Baobabs, einen Ficus-Baumhain mit Wurzeln, die sich in ein Dolinen-Flusssystem erstrecken, an welches Kattas zum Trinken kommen; die große, aber seltene Strahlenschildkröte – die viele für die schönste Schildkröte der Welt halten; den Großen Breitstreifenmungo, der tagsüber in Höhlen wohnt, um sich vor der Hitze zu schützen, sowie katzenartige Fossas, die in der Nacht durch die Bäume schleichen. Eine Madagaskar-Safari ist ohne einen Zwischenstopp im Lake Tsimanampetsotsa Nationalpark unvollständig.

Specials

Jenman Madagascar Safaris is always on the lookout for the best deals for your holiday throughout Madagascar. A selection of the best specials that are currently on offer in Madagascar can be found below.

Jenman African Safaris Collection

PayGate-Card-Brand-Logos

Tsimanampetsotsa National Park

Tsimanampetsotsa National Park

Tsimanampetsotsa National Park, in the south west of Madagascar, is usually included as part of a safari to the ‘deep south’. A vacation stop in Tsimanampetsotsa can also incorporate the Berenty Reserve and the Andohahela Special Reserve, all of which lie in a particularly beautiful region dominated by a unique semi-arid habitat of spiny forest and wetlands that give rise to a host of bizarre and highly-adapted plants and animals found nowhere else on Earth.

Lake Tsimanampetsotsa lies at the heart of Tsimanampetsotsa. It is a saline lake with no outlet that has no fish life due to its unusual chemistry. Instead this wetland – listed on the Ramsar list of internationally important wetlands –sustains a population of pink- and dwarf flamingos and other wading birds. Another unusual and beautiful sight is the bottle tree, endemic in the Tsimanampetsotsa National Park, and typical of the spiny thicket that dominates the limestone escarpment adjacent to Lake Tsimanampetsotsa.

90 percent of species found in Tsimanampetsotsa are endemic to the park – an incredible claim that places it high on any holiday itinerary. The spiny thickets eco-region in Madagascar is particularly astounding. Discover 2000 year-old baobabs, a ficus tree grove with roots that extend into a sinkhole river system where ring tailed lemurs come to drink; the large, but rare, radiated tortoise – considered the most beautiful tortoise in the world, the Grandidier’s mongoose, that sleeps in burrows during the day to shelter from the heat, whilst at night cat-like fossas creep through trees. A safari to Madagascar is incomplete without a stop at Lake Tsimanampetsotsa National Park.


Visit the Tsimanampetsotsa National Park when booking the following package:

South and Morondava Package

 


Specials

Jenman Madagascar Safaris is always on the lookout for the best deals for your holiday throughout Madagascar. A selection of the best specials that are currently on offer in Madagascar can be found below.

Jenman African Safaris Collection

PayGate-Card-Brand-Logos