Ranomafana Nationalpark

Der Ranomafana Nationalpark wurde 1991 gegründet, um zwei seltene Lemurenarten zu schützen – den Goldenen und den Großen Bambuslemur. Heute ist der Park mit seinem großen Wald, der von einer riesigen Vielfalt von Wildtieren bewohnt wird, einer der beliebtesten Parks Madagaskars.

1986 wurde der Goldene Bambuslemur in der Gegend entdeckt. Der geschützte Bergregenwald von Ranomafana ist ein Schutzgebiet für Wildtiere auf einer Fläche von 1.600 Hektar in Höhen zwischen 800 und 1.200 Metern. Das Reservat liegt 445 km südlich von Antananarivo und 65 km östlich von Fianarantsoa und wird vom Namorona-Fluss dominiert, der von vielen Bächen gespeist wird, die in den Bergen entspringen. Nahe des Parkeingangs stürzt der Fluss die östliche Randstufe des Hochlands herab.

Der magische Nebelwald ist frisch und kühl. Er wird geprägt von sanften Hügeln, Wasserfällen und tiefgrüner Vegetation.

Andere Lemur-Arten, neben dem Goldenen Bambuslemur, sind:

  • Großer Bambuslemur
  • Rotbauchmaki
  • Grauer Bambuslemur
  • Edwards-Sifaka
  • Red-fronted brown lemur
  • Wieselmaki
  • Schwarzweißer Vari
  • Brauner Fettschwanzmaki
  • Brauner Mausmaki

Ranomafana beherbergt auch die Fanaloka, den Ringelschwanzmungo, die Rote Waldratte und den Östlichen Wollmaki. Die Fossa und der Tenrek sind ebenfalls vorhanden, aber sehr schwer zu sichten.

Reptilien- und Froscharten umfassen:

  • Parsons Chamäleon
  • O'Shaughnessys Chamäleon
  • Kurzhorn-Chamäleon (Caluma brevicornis)
  • Madagaskar-Hundskopfboa
  • Drei Arten von Blattschwanzgeckos: Uroplatus fimbriatus, U. Sikorae und U. Phantasticus
  • Pfauenaugen-Taggecko (Phelsuma quadriocellata)
  • Zahlreiche Frösche der Gattungen Boophis und Mantidactylus

Der Ranomafana Nationalpark ist der wohl beste madagassische Regenwald für Vogelbeobachtungen. Einige Arten in diesem Regenwald sind:

  • Blau-Seidenkuckuck
  • Pollen-Vanga
  • Bülbülvanga
  • Seidenjala
  • Blaukopf-Erdracke
  • Schuppenerdracke
  • Einfarb-Stelzenralle
  • Hovaralle
  • Madagaskarhabicht
  • Madagaskarrötel

Ein Bereich des Waldes in Ranomafana ist bekannt als Vohiparara. Vohiparara liegt ca. 5 km in Richtung Fianarantsoa. Es liegt auf einer Erhebung und ist ein bevorzugter Standort für einige Arten wie: Pollen-Vanga, Langschnabel-Nektarjala oder Gelbbrauenfoditany.

Der Park organisiert eine nächtliche Waldbeobachtung mit einer Nachtfütterungsstation. Obwohl es etwas zooähnlich ist, gibt es keinen Zweifel, dass es für die meisten Besuchern die einzige wirkliche Chance ist, sich den nachtaktiven Säugetieren zu nähern und sie zu fotografieren. Dazu gehören der Rotbauchmaki, der winzige und unglaublich zahme Braune Mausmaki und die Fanaloka.

Jenman African Safaris Collection

PayGate-Card-Brand-Logos

Ranomafana National Park

Ranomafana National Park

Ranomafana National Park was set up in 1991 to protect two species of rare lemur – the golden bamboo lemur and the greater bamboo lemur. Today it is one of Madagascar’s most popular parks with a great forest, teeming with a huge selection of wildlife.

In 1986, the golden lemur was discovered in the area. Ranomafana’s protected montane rainforest is a sanctuary for wildlife of an area of 1,600 ha at altitudes between 800m and 1,200m. Located 445 km south of Antananarivo and 65 km east of Fianarantsoa, the reserve is dominated by the Namorona River that is fed by many streams flowing from the hills and plunges past the eastern escarpment near the park entrance.

The magical cloud forest is fresh and cool, punctuated by rolling hills, waterfalls and dark-green vegetation.

Other lemur species, besides the golden bamboo lemur, include:

  • Greater bamboo lemur
  • Red-bellied lemur
  • Grey bamboo lemur
  • Milne-Edwards sifaka
  • Red-fronted brown lemur
  • Sportive lemur
  • Black-and-white ruffed lemur
  • Greater dwarf lemur
  • Brown mouse lemur

Ranomafana also hosts the fanaloka, the eastern ring-tailed mongoose, the red forest rat, the eastern avahi and ring-tailed mongoose. The fossa and the aquatic tenrec are also present but very hard to spot.

Reptile and frog species include:

  • Parson’s chameleon
  • O’Shaughnessy’s chameleon
  • Short-horned chameleon (caluma brevicornis)
  • Madagascar tree boa
  • Three species of leaf-tailed geckos: uroplatus fimbriatus, U. Sikorae and U. Phantasticus
  • Common day gecko (phelsuma quadriocellata)
  • Numerous frogs belonging to the genera boophis and mantidactylus

The National Park of Ranomafana is arguably the best Malagasy rainforest for bird watching. Some species to be found in this rainforest are:

  • Blue coua
  • Pollen’s vanga
  • Tylas
  • Velvet asity
  • Pitta-like ground roller
  • Scaly ground roller
  • Brown mesite
  • Henst’s goshawk
  • Madagascar flufftail
  • Forest rock-thrush

One area of the forest at Ranomafana is known as Vohiparara. Vohiparara is situated about 5 km toward Fianarantsoa. It is at a higher elevation and preferred location for a few species such as: pollens vanga, common sunbird-asity or yellow-browed oxylabes.

The park organises a nocturnal forest viewing with a night feeding station. Although it is somewhat zoo-like, there is no doubt that it gives most visitors their only real chance at getting close to nocturnal mammals and to photograph them. These include the red-bellied lemur, the diminutive and incredibly tame brown mouse lemur, and the fanaloka (striped civet).


Specials

Jenman Madagascar Safaris is always on the lookout for the best deals for your holiday throughout Madagascar. A selection of the best specials that are currently on offer in Madagascar can be found below.

Jenman African Safaris Collection

PayGate-Card-Brand-Logos