Isalo National Park

Der Isalo-Nationalpark umfasst 81.540 Hektar erodiertes Sandsteinmassiv und liegt im Südwesten Madagaskars, etwa 400 km südwestlich der Hauptstadt Antananarivo und 226 km südwestlich von Fianarantsoa auf dem Weg nach Toliara.

Die Landschaft im Park wirkt wie aus einer anderen Welt. Das Gestein stammt aus der Jurazeit, es ist also kein Wunder, dass der Erosionsprozess unglaubliche, ungewöhnliche Felsskulpturen und beeindruckende Schluchten geformt hat. Der Isalo National Park wurde 1962 gegründet und die Felsen (bekannt als „Ruiniformes“) sind ein unglaubliches Erbe.

Im Inneren des Parks finden sich Canyons mit Wasserfällen und Täler, die von dem feuerbeständigen Baum Tapia, dem Madagaskar-Schraubenbaum und der hier weit verbreiteten Federpalme dominiert werden. Klippen und Felsen sind übersät mit gewöhnlichen Sukkulenten wie dem Elefantenfuß und der Isalo Aloe. Während die spektakulären Berge des Isalo-Massivs das berühmteste Merkmal des Parks sind, gibt es weitere Sehenswürdigkeiten wie natürliche Pools, erstaunliche Landschaften am Canyon des Singes und Canyon des Rats. Der enge Canyon des Singes (was „Affenschlucht“ bedeutet) bietet einen langen Spaziergang durch die Hitze der versteckten Canyons des Massivs zum Piscine Naturelle.

Die Natursteinhöhle am Piscine Naturelle liegt über einem kristallklaren Wasserfall, der in einen smaragdgrünen Pool mit grünen Schraubenbäumen hinabstürzt. Dieser ruhige Pool ist eine Oase in der Hitze und bietet nach der langen Wanderung dorthin eine willkommene Erfrischung. Eine weitere besonders faszinierende Attraktion ist das Fenster von Isalo, das besonders bei Sonnenuntergang reizvoll ist.

Obwohl das Tierleben nicht das prominenteste Merkmal des Parks ist, gibt es ein paar Arten zu beachten, darunter:

  • Catta lemur
  • Ring-tailed lemur
  • Red-fronted brown lemur
  • Blackhead lemur
  • Verreaux sifaka (weißer Lemur mit einer schwarzen Schnauze und einer braunen Kappe)

 

Es gibt 55 Vogelarten, darunter:

  • Benson’s rock thrush
  • Madagaskar-Zwergtaucher
  • Darter and white-faced duck
  • Madagascar partridge
  • Torotoroka scops-owl
  • White-throated rail
  • Madagascar coucal
  • Madagascar wagtail
  • Madagascar kestrel

 

Isalos Reptilien und Frösche, einschließlich:

  • Oustalet´s Chamäleon
  • Jewel chameleon
  • Spiny-tailed iguanid lizard (oplurus saxicola)
  • Stump-tailed chameleon
  • Brookesia ebenaui
  • Zwei lokal vorkommende Frösche: die schön gefärbte Marmorkröte und der Mantidactylus Corvus

Erleben Sie den Isalo Nationalpark auf dieser Tour:

1000 Views of Madagascar

 

Jenman African Safaris Collection

PayGate-Card-Brand-Logos

Isalo National Park

Isalo National Park

Isalo National Park covers 81,540 hectares of eroded sandstone massif and is located in the southwest region of Madagascar. Isalo National Park is approximately 400 km south-west from Madagascar’s capital city, Antananarivo, and 226 km south-west from Fianarantsoa en route to Toliara.

An unearthly landscape – with rocks dating from the Jurassic period – it’s no wonder that this marvellous evolutionary process has sculpted incredible, unusual shapes of impressive gorges and canyons. Isalo National Park was established in 1962 and the rocks (known as “ruiniformes”) are an incredible heritage.

Its interior boasts canyons filled with waterfalls and valleys, dominated by the fire-resistant tree tapia, pandanus pulcher, and the locally prevalent feather palm. Cliffs and rocks are dotted with common succulents including the Elephant’s Foot and Isalo Aloe. While the spectacular mountains of the Isalo massif are the park’s most famous feature, there are other attractions worth seeing such as natural swimming pools, the astounding scenery at the Canyon des Singes and Canyon des Rats. The tightly constricted Canyon des Singes (which means “canyon of monkeys”) offers a long, hot walk through the hidden canyons of the massif to Piscine Naturelle.

The natural stone cave at Piscine Naturelle overlooks a crystal-clear waterfall flowing into an emerald pool surrounded by leafy pandanus trees. This tranquil pool is an oasis in the heat and offers a welcome relief after the long hike to get there. Another particularly fascinating attraction is the Window of the Isalo, which is especially beautiful at sunset.

Although animal life is not the park’s most prominent feature, there are a few species to look out for, including:

  • Catta lemur
  • Ring-tailed lemur
  • Red-fronted brown lemur
  • Blackhead lemur
  • Verreaux sifaka (white lemur with a black snout and brown cap)

 

There are 55 species of birds, including:

  • Benson’s rock thrush
  • Madagascar little grebe
  • Darter and white-faced duck
  • Madagascar partridge
  • Torotoroka scops-owl
  • White-throated rail
  • Madagascar coucal
  • Madagascar wagtail
  • Madagascar kestrel

 

Isalo’s reptiles and frogs, including:

  • Oustalet’s chameleon
  • Jewel chameleon
  • Spiny-tailed iguanid lizard (oplurus saxicola)
  • Stump-tailed chameleon
  • Brookesia ebenaui
  • Two locally prevalent frogs, the beautifully coloured scaphiophryne gottlebei and the mantidactylus corvus

Experience Isalo National Park on this tour:

1000 Views of Madagascar

 


Specials

Jenman Madagascar Safaris is always on the lookout for the best deals for your holiday throughout Madagascar. A selection of the best specials that are currently on offer in Madagascar can be found below.

Jenman African Safaris Collection

PayGate-Card-Brand-Logos